Friday, July 17, 2009

WHAT THE FUCK, USMC?

I know I said I'd only post here once a day, but the article which I just finished reading, I cannot resist posting here a second time today. It'll probably more-than-make-up for the fact that I will likely not post sometime this weekend, as I will be quite busy.

And now, without further ado, on to the bitch-fest...

Joshua Fry, a 20 year-old Marine, is, right now, in a military lock-up facility. He, at current time, faces charges for "possessing child pornography" and having "unexplained absences".

Joshua Fry, it would seem, at first glance, is a criminal. However, don't get too riled up just yet over this, as all of the facts are not in. Joshua Fry is, as it turns out, a young man with a history of being abuse and neglect. Oh, and did I mention that he's autistic?

Yes, folks, the military has not only recruited, but sent to boot camp - AND ALLOWED TO BE ON ACTIVE DUTY - an autistic person.

Oh, and before we go any further with this, let me add this little tidbit: THEY RECRUITED HIM FROM A GROUP HOME FOR DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED PEOPLE!

Fry's backstory (from an abc.com article):[1]

Fry was born in 1988 to a crack addicted father and a mother on heroin according to his lawyer's 35-page court motion to dismiss the charges, which was later rejected. The document details a downtrodden life that included physical and possible sexual abuse all while Fry slipped further behind in his developmental progress.

By the age of 3, according to the motion, he tested as having an IQ of 70 and was found to be anti-social and self-abusive. He was diagnosed with autism when he was 3 and then again as a teenager.

While in high school Fry was arrested for suspected larceny of iPods and found to have a knife. The charges were eventually dismissed and Fry was sent to what the motion describes as a "lockdown facility for youths" in Colorado to finish high school and receive treatment and counseling.

It was during this time that his legal guardian, grandmother Mary Beth Fry applied for and was granted temporary conservatorship over her grandson, the court noting that Fry, then 18, lacked the capacity to fully care for himself or enter into contracts on his own behalf.
After leaving the Colorado facility, Fry took up residence at a group home in Irvine, Calif., where he was living until his enlistment.

An assessment in 2006 by a licensed psychiatrist who treated Fry for two years noted that while the young man was high-functioning for a person with autism "he appears quite limited in his ability to think ahead of possible consequences."

That foreshadowing seemed to come true once Fry got to boot camp on Jan. 14, 2008.

"Immediately it was clear to Fry that he could not keep up with the day-to-day pace of boot camp," the motion argued. "Several times Fry informed his staff that he did not want to be a Marine. Each time he was told that was not an option."

First off, WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON HERE? How many people had to FUCK UP to miss this?

Secondly, how can they reject his lawyers motion to dismiss charges? This guy is clearly disabled and should be supervised, as he cannot function as a normal part of society on his own.

So, to recap: The United States Marines recruited someone who should most definitely not be trusted with a weapon of any sort. They then ignored his pleas to leave boot camp. Finally, they neglected to give him the extra supervision someone like him needed, and now, to top it all off, they're charging him with crimes.

Here's what I think:

If a recruiter hadn't taken him from the group home...

If the folks at boot camp would've listened to him...

If ANYBODY WITH AN IQ HIGHER THAN HIS WOULD'VE NOTICED THAT HE DIDN'T BELONG IN THE MARINES AND, IN FACT, NEEDED TO BE SUPERVISED, he wouldn't've likely been in possession of child pornography to begin with.

The Marines: Failing hard at recruiting... Both in numbers and quality.

1. http://abcnews.go.com/US/story?id=8080064&page=1

What the fuck, Lois and Judy? Your special snowflakes can just be like the rest of us and go to public school...

For years now, private schools have been going downhill. Sure, plenty of kids attend them with great marks. However, it's the curriculum that's been suffering. In the inner cities, this isn't too bad, because the kids are likely still getting a better education (or at least, an education in a less-disruptive atmosphere) than at a public school. However, in the suburbs, this is becoming a problem.

So, you can't imagine my recent bought of JOY when a local Catholic school (Towson Catholic) announced that it was closing its doors for good. I smiled, especially, because I have never met anybody that has attended this school whose knowledge impressed me. In fact, a lot of the people I've talked to whom attended this school we're down right stupid when it came to a quite a few subjects. However, since my joy isn't the main purpose of this diatribe, I will digress on this matter.

The school, after years of financial troubles, a fall enrollment down by 77 students (240 to 163), and a $650,000 budget shortfall, closed at the end of June.[1] Understandably, many parents were upset about this, as they now only had two months to enroll their precious snowflake children in other private schools (because they're too good to attend school with the real people of society). Many have likely already enrolled their snowflakes in a new school. However, two parents, Lois Windsor and Judy Messina, have decided that the school cannot close, as it is a breach of some sort-of unwritten contract.

The lawsuit they have filed, according The Baltimore Sun, is asking for a temporary restraining order, which will force the school not only to remain open, but to keep all of its staff on the payroll.[2]

Judy Messina's husband apparently suffers from pancreatic cancer, and the school was helping pay her daughter's tuition, which is why she is part of the lawsuit. Apparently, the school is breaching the unwritten contract they made, which is a promise to pay for the girl's tuition.

So, let me get this right: School is short $650,000 and is forced to close. Many parents enroll their children in other schools because of this. Meanwhile, two dumb bitches who can't stand to see their "special snowflake" children go to other schools (one of them would likely have to send their kid to a public school - OHNOES!) sue the school to not ONLY stay open, but to keep its current staff members.

So, in the end, the school, which was already short $650,000, is probably now short a bit more due to having an even lower enrollment for the fall due to students being enrolled elsewhere because of its "closing", might be forced to stay open (if these dumb bitches get their way) with an even larger budget shortfall. Oh, and they can't let any staff members go.

HOW THE FUCK ARE THEY SUPPOSED TO PAY THE SALARIES OF THE TEACHERS? I MEAN, FUCK, PRIVATE SCHOOLS ALREADY LACK THE PROPER FUNDING TO HAVE BOOKS THAT WERE WRITTEN IN THE LAST EIGHT YEARS... AND THIS ONE COULDN'T AFFORD TO PAY ITS TEACHERS TO BEGIN WITH... AND THEY WON'T BE ABLE TO LET ANYBODY GO (EVEN THOUGH THEY WON'T LIKELY NEED AS MANY STAFF MEMBERS IF THEY WERE ALREADY DOWN 77 STUDENTS *BEFORE* THEY CLOSED).

Lois Windsor and Judy Messina: Two people that don't understand budgets or simple economics. Perhaps two prime examples of why our economy is failing miserably.

1. http://www.baltimoresun.com/features/bal-md.fa.towson16jul16,0,5045219.story
2.
http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/education/bal-md.suit16jul16,0,3110222.story

Wednesday, July 15, 2009

What the fuck, Wondering?

This morning, I did as I always do, I read the comics in the local paper. On the page next to it is the horoscopes and the "Ask Amy" column. I read the horoscopes because I generally find the nonsense amusing.

I often read "Ask Amy", as well, because she seems to generally offer sane advice to people with sometimes stupid questions that should have obvious answers. Generally, the people writing to Amy amaze and amuse me with their profound lack of understanding of what are often simple concepts of ettiquette and social interaction.

However, today's writer didn't amuse me at all. In fact, she left me quite incensed:

Dear Amy: I am 44, and my daughter is 23.

She is gay, and I have treated her and her partner the same way I treat my son and daughter-in-law. Everyone acknowledges this. I respect their commitment to each other and am joyful that they are very happy.

However, I cannot accept the fact that she just got "married." She has now informed me that she needs to terminate her relationship with me because I will not accept her marriage.

She is aware of my position on gay marriage. The suggestion to agree to disagree is not an option. What say you?

- Wondering

Link

WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS? This dumb woman refuses to support her daughter's lifestyle - one that she didn't choose and she can't change - and she wants to know how she can make her daughter like her?

Well, here's how you do it: You shut the fuck up and don't talk to your daughter anymore... OR A HEALTHY ALTERNATIVE: Learn to be more fucking accepting. It's not rocket science, lady!

So, to recount: This woman doesn't support her daughter's marriage, doesn't believe it's real, and doesn't even wish to accept that her daughter is gay, because she finds it morally wrong. And yet, somehow, she manages to think it's wrong of her daughter to push her out of her life. Well, you can't expect your daughter to accept your bigoted bullshit if you can't accept her the way she was born. Oh, and in case you forgot, you gave birth to her.

Luckily, there is a woman named Amy to set her straight.