Sunday, December 19, 2010

The job of a bartender.

The job of a bartender is to serve the patrons on behalf of the owner of the establishment. Basically, their job is to get this:



Yes, that's six dollars USD. That might be a bit more than some drinks and a bit less than others, but it's a nice round number. But, I digress... This isn't about how much money is in a picture.[1]

If a bartender does their job correctly and serves you, they will not only get what is pictured in the above photo, but they will also end up with the following:



See that? That's a tip. That's what a bartender gets when they do a good job and are nice. Maybe they get it as soon as they give you your drink (some people tip immediately), or maybe they get it at the end of the night if you're buying several drinks. The point is, they get that if they're good at their job and treat the customer with respect.

Do you know who doesn't get it? The woman at the Sidebar who my girlfriend now refers to as "cunt".

Do you know why? Because after we had bought several drinks, she simply refused to serve us.

For 45 minutes, we tried in vain to get service. Finally, she informed us that we could get something "after all of the other customers who were tipping". Yeah, who the fuck really says that? That's horrible customer service, and a horrible attitude. That's entitlement to the fucking max!

Her job isn't to demand a tip, it's to sell people alcohol and make the place money. If she gets a tip, that's awesome - and it's the nice thing to do when you're a customer. However, acting like you are OWED one and refusing to serve people because they haven't given you when is just bad service. And you know what happens when you give that kind bad service? You miss out on both of the above pictures of money, and you can possibly ruin someone's night out with your horrible attitude.

She's overall horrible at her actual job (making the bar money) because she was serving "all of the other people who were tipping", which I could see were people buying $2 Natty Bohs. We were actually trying to spend MORE money on higher priced items. So, while she might've been getting a tip (which works to her advantage), she actually failed at her specific job, which is the make the bar more money. If I were the owner, I'd fire her.

But again, I digress... I'll get back to the point!

Was she going to get a tip from us? In the words of Sarah Palin, "You betcha!"[2] But, she was going to get it at the end of the night, like we often tip. But now she gets nothing but what she deserves: scathing words for a stupidly entitled woman with a bad attitude.

1. if you don't know how much money is in a picture, you probably can't read this blog anyway.
2. This will likely be the first and only time I quote that awful woman.

Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and the Sun

What do the things in the title have in common? Well, I'm going to tell you.

(AFP) - After billions of years the Sun finally has an owner -- a woman from Spain's soggy region of Galicia said Friday she had registered the star at a local notary public as being her property.

...

Duran, who lives in the town of Salvaterra do Mino, said she now wants to slap a fee on everyone who uses the sun and give half of the proceeds to the Spanish government and 20 percent to the nation's pension fund.[2]

So, apparently, some stupid lady thinks she own the sun now, and wants everybody to pay for its usage.[2]

Great... Yet another stupid person co-opting what belongs to everybody.

What's more surprising is that, somehow, this is legally allowed:

There is an international agreement which states that no country may claim ownership of a planet or star, but it says nothing about individuals, she added.

It seems like she's right. However, I would make an argument that, by personal ownership and her being a part of a country, the sun is actually property of Spain in some ways. But I guess somebody else will be left to argue this in court and laugh this lady into madness.

Yes, yes, I do realize that I'm not being at all humorous today. And do you know why? There is nothing at all funny about this... AT ALL. It's just really fucking sad.

Well, okay, maybe there is this:

I originally found out about this story while reading about the Cafe Hon controversy here. On the page, a commenter wrote that "when a woman in Sweden (or Switzerland can't remember which) just claimed to owning the SUN". Sweden? Switzerland? Yeah, people confuse them sometimes. I'll give them that... But it was Spain. SPAIN. Nowhere in the same ballpark, unless you count that they all start with "S" and are part of the continent known as Europe...

1. Source
2. Goth kids luck out - they won't have to pay much at all!