Thursday, September 17, 2009

Oh, Kevin Brady, you're so cute when you talk!

The Texas Republican [Sen. Kevin Brady] on Wednesday released a letter he sent to Washington’s Metro system complaining that the taxpayer-funded subway system was unable to properly transport protesters to the rally to protest government spending and expansion.

Brady wrote. “These participants, whose tax dollars were used to create and maintain this public transit system, were frustrated and disappointed that our nation’s capital did not make a great effort to simply provide a basic level of transit for them."[1]

So, let me get this straight - a bunch of people show up to the capital to protest government spending and are angry that the government didn't spend enough on one area, apparently?

Brady tweeted from the Saturday march. “METRO did not prepare for Tea Party March!”

Brady says in his letter to Metro that overcrowding forced an 80-year-old woman and elderly veterans in wheelchairs to pay for cabs. He concludes that it “appears that Metro added no additional capacity to its regular weekend schedule.”

Yep, that's exactlywhat it seems like: People who came to protest government spending on programs were upset that a government-funded program didn't have enough money spent on it?

"HEY, BECAUSE OF YOUR UNDERFUNDING OF GOVERNMENT SPENDING FOR PUBLIC TRANSIT, I COULDN'T PROTEST YOUR GOVERNMENT SPENDING!"

Priceless. Absolutely... Priceless.

I mean, really, they operate on a normal schedule. Any time they add to the schedule, it costs a lot of extra money (due to overtime, etc). These people should understand this and be more supportive of them cutting costs if they really dislike government spending so much.

Kevin Brady, you remind me of my cousin's three year-old daughter: You say the damndest, cutest, nonsensical things. It's truly adorable, Kevin.

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Some might consider it a devil's pact...

I'm not one to argue for arbitrary ages on anything - driver's licenses, drinking, joining the military, or even the age of consent. I simply don't like applying arbitrary ages to things, as it is very much on an individual basis. However, the law must start somewhere, and thus they pick an age that seems most reasonable for a majority of people.

As we all know, there are some people who break such laws: Plenty of kids drink underage, some have lied about their age to join the military, and in pop-culture history, we have one Brian (Anthony Michael Hall in The Breakfast Club) who has a fake ID for the sole reason of voting. And, of course, there are plenty of pedophiles and ephebophiles that break age of consent laws on a daily basis.

Many of the people who break AoC laws end up in prison (or worse, in prison AND caught by Chris Hansen on television), but some get away with it. Many of the ones who are caught get turned in by the parents of the "victim". Sometimes, the parents let it go on for awhile and only turn the person in after something happens that they do not approve of, while other times, the parents turn in the perpetrator as soon as they find out.

But then, sometimes, there are those special parents that love their kids, look out for them, and wholly approve of their lifestyle and wishes parents like Tracy Lisi and another woman:[1]

(Sept. 12) - Two New York mothers allegedly signed an agreement allowing one mom's 13-year-old daughter and the other's 19-year-old son to engage in a romantic relationship, police said.

The pact didn't impress the police.[2]

The pact didn't impress the authorities? You don't say.

What in the fuck is wrong with these two idiots that they'd actually think that making a pact would protect their kids and themselves from legal repercussions?

Now, the mothers face charges of child endangerment and the 19-year-old, Shawn German, is charged with second-degree rape, among other offenses, according to a Times Union report.

"They put something in writing saying it was OK for those two to date," Schenectady, N.Y., Police Sgt. Eric Clifford told the newspaper.

How very nice and open-minded of both mothers! Progressive politics have really come a long way in New York. I eagerly await them passing a gay-marriage bill soon.

German's mother, Tracy A. Lisi, 38, and the girl's mother, whose name was not released to protect the privacy of her daughter, thought the agreement would provide protection "should the 13-year-old get pregnant," Clifford said.

First, what mother even thinks her 13-year-old should even be dating a 19-year-old, let alone having sex (as implied by the "pregnant" bit)? And even if they approve of it, or don't turn the 19-year-old in outright, who talks to the 19-year-old's mother and doesn't tell the woman, "Your son is a sick pervert that needs to date girls his own age", who actually talks to the mother and instead says "Hey, this is cool with me, let's make a pact and avoid the law!"???

You know what would provide really protection from legal repercussions? Never doing it to begin with.

Breakin' the law, breakin' the law: You've gotta work on your angle, moms.

1. Whose name is not being released due to privacy laws regarding the "victim".
2. Source

Sunday, September 13, 2009

You'll Never Find a More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy

In high school, I was a bit of a slacker - lots of kids were. And most of the time, I accepted the consequences, just like the other kids did.

Admittedly, there was a time when I was allowed to use a teacher's laptop, and I did use that chance to edit my grades in her grading program (as well as those of a few friends). But that is about as far as my grade modification ever went.

I know that some kids have attempted to bribe teachers in the past - it often makes news when they do (and I'm sure some get away with it). So, it really shocked me when I read this:

PATERSON, N.J. (Sept. 12) - Authorities say a New Jersey teenager threatened to rape and kill his teacher if she did not give his entire class an "A++" for the last school year.[1]

The kid, who is 14-years-old, informed his teacher he would kill her and rape her family for good grades - and he didn't even negotiate properly! A++'s for everybody? That's not how you do it.

And really, you have to be a pretty stupid 14-year-old to think that you won't get caught for such an absurd attempt at extortion. After all of the teachers getting caught having sex with their students, and all of the students getting caught trying to bribe their teachers with money, death AND rape threats are NOT the way to go.

Oh, and he did it through e-mail. So not only did he make a stupid threat (and not go through with it, making him a sissy), he made a stupid threat and left some pretty damning evidence to it.

New Jersey: Such a cesspool of crime and corruption, even the kids are getting in on it.