The Arrogant Raging Dork Effect is a completely horrible syndrome that effects millions of American nerds. It is also completely made up... But it might be a real thing!
TARDe is when a nerd of some fandom is so oddly affected by another fandom that it drives them to rage. I've seen people threaten to beat people up over certain things because they simply cannot grasp how someone can be comfortable enough with themselves to like ____.
I first became aware of TARDe in college when I heard an acquaintance talk about how he wanted to beat some "furry" up. I asked him "Why?"
He told me, "Because they're a fucking furry. What the fuck is wrong with them!? I should beat some sense in to them!"
And he was being honest about his feelings. The next time he saw that kid wearing his fursuit on campus (which, admittedly is a bit strange to me), he ran up and started shoving him.
Why did it matter that some dude was wearing a fursuit? It wasn't hurting him. I'll never understand it... And the worst part is that the aggressor here had a best friend that was a lesbian! How would he feel if she was attacked because she was being herself!? People attack homosexuals all of the time "because they're fucking gay. What the fuck is wrong with them!?"
And from there, I knew that people were fucking stupid. So, years have gone by and every once in awhile, I run across someone saying something like that again - and every time I just want to scream at them "WHY MAN? WHYYYYY?"
Tonight was no different!
Bronies are serious business... Apparently.
Look, I mean, I don't watch My Little Pony, but I really don't care if anybody does. Why would someone's simple life choice about a FUCKING CARTOON drive anybody to rage like this? I just don't get it. I absolutely DESPISE Family Guy (seriously, that show is fucking awful), but when my roommate turns it on, I don't even begin to think about grabbing my twelve gauge.[1]
The most interesting thing here is that this guy is RAGING about somebody watching a cartoon that is made for kids. Okay, fine, not everybody does that... But I happened to click on his page and what did I find? Oh, just this:
![]() |
| A "sweet find from the thrift store" - his words, not mine. |
Yeah, the guy bought a fucking Skeletor toy, and his mount... And has Mario in the background... And an NES, but he's mad that some people watch cartoons made for kids. Yeah, that fucking makes sense.
It all just DOESN'T MATTER. If someone watches My Little Pony, it matters not. If they're gay, who cares? If they're gay and watch My Little Pony, it won't hurt you. And if you're gay, dress up like a wolf and have sex after watching My Little Pony, well, call me... No, don't call me, but seriously, I don't give a fuck, and nobody else should either because it's not hurting them.
1. No, I only think that when he watches Aqua Teen Hunger Force

