Summary: Single, childless people have no patience for listening to their friends who chose to become parents complain about their life.At a recent friendly gathering my sort of friend (I say sort of because I don't know them all that well) and I started talking about parenthood and how it just completely obliterates your pre-child life.
“I just have no patience for parents who complain”, says my friend, “sure they can't do what ever they want, whenever they want, but that's kinda their choice!”
I replied to him, “Yeah, I know, before my friend had a kid, I used to think he was too busy to hang out a lot of the time. Ha! What a delusional fool I was.”
He had a similar story about one of his friends, “It’s so funny. Whenever I talk to him, he complains about how tired he is from parenting all weekend, or about how the two kids movies he saw sucked, or how crowded the car was on the recent family vacation. Well, yeah, I guess it's true, the car is probably crowded, and it feels more-so with kids in it. And guess what, kids movies are often made for kids, so of course they're going to suck. Then he has the nerve to complain that he hasn't had an unscheduled minute that didn’t revolve around work or family in over 3 years! Well, yes, because he chose to have a kid. That's a big responsibility, and something he chose to do. Who doesn't know that kids lead to more kid time and less friend time?”
And that was just part of the rant! This guy was clearly on a roll. It was quite a joy to watch, to be honest. And, do you know what? He’s completely right. So many parents simply people have no scale. They're like teenagers. They think the world revolves around their petty problems that they got themselves into. Everything’s a crisis.
I’m a dog lover. I grew up with dogs, and I’ve always had one. And I've always talked about my dog. That's what normal people do, talk about their pets.
But then I read this in a blog:
Then it hit me. Only childless people talk about their pets. Once you have a kid your pet is non longer a source of pride or entertainment. They are just another thing to deal with.I had to laugh, to be honest! My girlfriend, even though she has a child, talks about her child AND her pet rat, too. And do you know why? Not because she's a bad mother, but because she's a good mother AND a good pet owner!
The real thing about being a parent is this: Your free time just evaporates, because you have a responsibility that you chose to have. Spontaneity dies because you have a responsibility that you chose to have. If you don’t schedule sex with your partner, it’s not going to happen, because you're both too busy with the child, which you chose to have. If you don’t schedule a time to see a movie, you won’t be seeing one, unless it's a movie for the children, because you chose to have a kid.
I know I'm jumping around here, but speaking of blogs, I read this in a blog, too:
So after I’ve worked for 12 hours straight since 4am, and I’ve fed, bathed, dressed, read to and put my daughter to bed, and I have just enough strength to Tivo through an episode of Top Chef before collapsing into bed, I really don’t want to here about how tired you were from the concert you went to last night or that your boyfriend that you’ve been dating for a whole three weeks is driving you crazy. Know what? I haven’t been to a concert in six months and my whole family drives me crazy. And I have no way to escape because we live in the same 750 square feet of home and our lives are bound together by blood.Apparently, having a kid makes you forget the difference between "here" and "hear". In addition to that, it makes you an entitled prick that thinks you get to brag about something that people have been doing without praise for thousands of years.
Congratulations, dude you are raising a child, just like billions of people before you!
As my girlfriend (you know, the one who is a mom) said to me after reading the above-mentioned blog, "
You change diapers? Omg really? You mean your baby shat in a rag and you cleaned it up and replaced it with a new one? Instead of letting your kid run naked, defecating everywhere? You must be some kind of fucking super genius."
This guy really thinks be cause he's a parent, he can complain and non-parents can't. Well, you know who might disagree with him? People who are dying! Maybe a parent with a terminal condition could write a similar blog. Their blog could be about how they are dying; how their kids won't have a mom/dad soon; and how they hate hearing their friends, who are healthy parents, complain about how difficult their lives are.
And really, in the end, the real question here is: if parenting is so hard, and there is so little time for anything else, how does this vapid moron find time to write his valueless drivel of a blog?
File Under: Stupid Parents with Blogs Complain too Much
1. Source2. He also doesn't know the difference between "to" and "too".