![]() |
| Not albuterol. |
I went to the doctor's office today, just for a yearly check-up kinda thing and to get my inhaler refilled. My doctor asked me how much it ran these days for someone without insurance (about $40). I told her how much it was, and she was appalled. She then recommended that I go to Walmart or Target, and informed me that the generic albuterol inhaler is less than $10 there.
"Wow, I'm in luck", I thought to myself! $10 is way better than $40, you know?
I left the office, information in hand, and drove to the nearest Walmart. I took my prescription in to the store, and stood in the "Drop Off" line. There was only one person in front of me, but he asked a lot of questions, so I had to stand there for awhile, which kinda sucked, but I was okay with it if I could save $30.
Eventually, another employee realized a line was forming behind me, so she opened up the other "Drop Off" window...and that's where the problem began.
I walked up to her, handed her my paper and said, "Could I get the generic? I'd love to pay less than $10."
She looked at my prescription and said, "I'm sorry, but you can't get the generic."
I was confused, but then remembered something about my prescription, which I pointed out to her, "Right there, my doctor signed the little line that says I can get generic if it's available."
She rolled her eyes, as if I were some sort-of idiot, and then told, "Yes, but what you're talking about is albuterol. That's the generic form of albuterol. You can't get it if your prescription isn't for albuterol!"
"But my prescription is for albuterol," I quipped.
She was getting impatient with me now (and I with her, because this made no sense), and in a huff, she said, "It has to say albuterol in order to get the generic albuterol. Sorry. Maybe you could get your doctor to give you a prescription for albuterol."
![]() |
| Also not albuterol. |
I DROVE BACK TO THE DOCTOR'S OFFICE. I walked in, and I informed the receptionist that I needed to speak to the doctor again, and she said that she'd be with me again.
I waited for a few minutes, and my doctor came out to ask me what was up. I informed her of the problem, and she asked the receptionist to call the Walmart and explain to them that she wanted me to get the generic albuterol instead of ProAir HFA, and if the person she talked to didn't understand it, to talk to the actual pharmacist.
The receptionist called, and I really had hoped that she would've had a better time of it than I did. But, unfortunately, my hopes and dreams were squashed, as the pharmacy tech told the receptionist the same thing that she had told me. The receptionist then did as my doctor asked, and asked to speak with the pharmacist. So, this guy gets on the phone and basically said the same fucking bullshit the tech just said. The receptionist cried out to him, "But ProAir IS albuterol!"
The pharmacist, speaking so loudly that I could hear him through the phone in the waiting area said, "Well, we don't give out generic albuterol unless it says albuterol on the prescription."
The receptionist, seeing that this was going nowhere, digressed, and said, "Well, fine, then can I call in a prescription for albuterol now?"
The pharmacist, apparently annoyed by being contradicted by fact, yelled "NOT NOW" and hung up on her.
Seriously, WHAT THE FUCK is that?
From Wikipedia's page on "Salbutamol":
Salbutamol (INN) or albuterol (USAN) is a short-acting β2-adrenergic receptor agonist used for the relief of bronchospasm in conditions such as asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. It is marketed by GlaxoSmithKline as Ventolin, Aerolin or Ventorlin depending on the market; by Cipla as Asthalin; by Schering-Plough as Proventil and by Teva as ProAir.[1]
So, basically, according to Walmart-logic, albuterol wasn't a good substitution for...albuterol. Right.
You know, I often feel sorry for people who have to work at Walmart, because it's a shitty job, and for some people, it's the only job they can get, or the best job they can get (which must really suck). But do you know what? Fuck those two people. They're clearly idiots who don't know what they're talking about, and one of them - the pharmacist - has a college degree! Why are they so fucking stupid? Where has the common sense gone? How can you give out a medication so constantly and not know that it is albuterol? Clearly other people have come in and had the same problem, since the girl knew exactly what I was talking about... WHY haven't they done something about this and become less ignorant on the subject?
Fuck you, Walmart...I'm going to Target.
1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salbutamol


